Russian Rambo, The Russian Hero

          With various superhero movies being hot this year, the topic of heroes come up everywhere on social media. Maybe some of you might be wondering what is a hero? What defines a hero? The definition of a hero is a person, typically a man, who is admired for their courage, outstanding achievements, or noble qualities. Typically the most notorious heroes are soldiers who were praised for their acts of bravery in a time of war. Last month, a story of a Russian soldier who sacrificed his life to take down ISIS insurgents shocked the media. Lieutenant Alexander Prokhorenko, 25, a Russian JTAC officer called in an airstrike to his position after being surrounded by ISIS. What was he doing there alone? You may ask, he was on a special lone mission with an objective to pinpoint ISIS locations and to give our coordinates for future airstrikes. He was detected and was pursued by several ISIS members. The last radio transmission with Prokhorenko released by Kremlin officials reveals the situation he was in. Down below is his last recorded radio call.

Prokhorenko: They are outside, conduct the airstrike now please hurry, this is the end, tell my family I love them and i died fighting for my motherland.

Command: Negative, return to the green line.

Prokhorenko: Unable command, I am surrounded, they are outside, I don’t want them to take me and parade me, conduct the airstrike, they will make a mockery of me and this uniform. I want to die with dignity and take all these bastards with me. please my last wish, conduct the airstrike, they will kill me either way.

Command: Please confirm your request.

Prokhorenko : They [are] outside, this is the end commander, thank you, tell my family and my country I love them. Tell them I was brave and I fought until I could no longer. Please take care of my family, avenge my death, good bye commander, tell my family I love them!

Command: [No response, orders the airstrike]

          Prokhorenko was given the title “Russian Rambo” by the internet and is widely talked about in media in Russian and the rest of the world. Do you think Prohorenko made the right decision? Do you think Prohorenko is a hero? Let us know in the comments below.

-Max Kuroiwa

Leave a Reply

